h1

Oblivion – My First Elder Scrolls Experience

January 31, 2012

When I picked up Oblivion again for the 360 after a long point of leaving it to collect dust (see my introduction post here for more information), I honestly couldn’t remember why I chose Khajiit to play as my first character. In these games, I usually play as female, and I just lazily set my name as “Ren”. I planned on making this playthrough a thief/warrior, but it ended up as a jack-of-all-trades kind of deal (which, usually happens on my first run). And, first thing’s first (and continuing that trend in Skyrim), I stole a horse as soon as I got through that awfully long and boring intro and out into the world of Cyrodiil. I joined every single guild, I robbed what I could to sell to Ongar, and originally I was going to be a good character, but being convinced to get Shadowmere, that didn’t last long (although, admittedly, I kind of lazied around after obtaining her, heh). I put 61 hours into this playthrough, without even going into Kvatch’s Oblivion gate.

Then, Steam had a sale going on for Oblivion: GOTY Edition. For a mere $5, I could have the game on my PC, plus all the DLC included. My friend Hitomi and immediately jumped on this deal and I started playing on the PC. Not before I heavily modded it, of course.

The problem with character creation in the beginning of the game is how close your face is to the damn camera. I had the opposite issue with Fallout. At least with the multiple mods I downloaded, I could actually make a humanoid character that was relatively pleasing to the eyes. But, as with the “face-too-close-to-the-camera” issue, I happened to make the character’s face way too pale, or just an odd colour in contrast with the rest of the body.

The exact issue as mentioned above, and only noticed after spending a lot of time trying to make a good looking character.

(I also realize this is a first-person game, but hey…it’s kinda fun…)

After a few false starts, I finally managed to create a character I actually liked, and didn’t have the face/body issue. I named her Ezra.

Ezra mostly focused in archery, a bit of sword-wielding, magic and alchemy…basically just like my first character, minus the murdering rampages. I quickly clocked in 61 hours, having fun killing Daedra and the like…sniping people with my arrows, and just selling my potions for lots of cash (thanks to the Wizard Tower plug-in, hooray for personal garden!!). I began to collect horses shortly after, not sure exactly why, since I had my perfectly good demon-horse summons.

Ezra, with demon horse summon "Spike", on top of Wizard's Tower.

I tried to play the PC version a bit differently from the 360’s, and to be honest, playing both have been quite unique. The only issue I had with the PC version was, despite fast loading times, the game seems to crash randomly for me all the time. Yes, even without all the mods installed. So I have to quicksave often. It’s different from the console, as the gaming community, thanks to their mods, add their own unique flavour to the game that wasn’t present in the vanilla version (not to say Oblivion on its own isn’t very good, quite the opposite, in fact).

I hope to finish the game (well, the main questline…or any questline for that matter, anyway…) sometime soon. as soon I can drag myself away from Skyrim long enough. 😀

Next Post: I AM AN APPRENTICE WIZARD, NOT A PACK MULE!

Leave a Reply

